Peasenhall Assembly Hall is used as a village hall for the villages of Peasenhall and Sibton. The hall is a registered charity (charity number 304808).
The Assembly Hall was built in the mid nineteenth century by James Josiah Smyth, whose Seed Drill works was a major employer in the area. The building was originally used as a reading room and social centre for the workforce. It's unusual design was apparently inspired by Mr Smyth's travels in the Alps. The Smyth works was a major enterprise in Peasenhall from the early 19th Century. The firm had an international reputation and it's seed drills were sold all over the world. The principal works, which closed in 1967, stood on the site now occupied by Smyth Mews, behind the parish church of St Michael.
Since then the Assembly Hall has provided the community with a place for dance, music, film as well as a library. In 1938 it was granted charitable status. With the aid of a number of grants the building was extensively restored in 2010 and continues as a focal point for the village communities.
The Assembly Hall Trustees are grateful for the continued support of the residents and enterprises of Peasenhall and Sibton in their efforts to maintain and improve this unique building.